Watch: Were New Zealand robbed in the final of Cricket World Cup 2019 by umpiring decisions?

The England cricket team were mistakenly awarded an extra run during their nail-biting thriller against New Zealand in the Cricket World Cup 2019 at Lord's, says a member of the sport's chief rules committee told media on Monday.


Ben Stokes apologises after the ball hit his bat which resulted in 4 extra runs as overthrows;  Image Credits: Dawn.com
Ben Stokes apologises after the ball hit his bat which resulted in 4 extra runs as overthrows;
Image Credits: Dawn.com

England registered their first World Cup win in a final that will be remembered as one of the greatest matches ever played in the history of Cricket. It appeared as though nothing could separate them from New Zealand, with the sides battling to an unusual tie, both sides scored 241 after 100 overs of nerve-wracking cricket that cast Ben Stokes as the hero for the home side.

England required 15 runs to win in the last over of their innings. Ben Stokes scored six runs in first three balls including a six on the third ball of the over. Stokes played the fourth ball on to the deep midwicket boundary and ran for two runs. To complete the second run he made a dive to reach his crease. At the same time, Martin Guptill launched a throw and eventually, it hit Stokes' bat and ran towards the boundary line changing direction. Stokes and England scored a total of six runs on that ball. 

After this, they needed three runs off 2 balls. These runs that England gained were completely right under the cricket rules. According to the rule, “If the ball crosses the boundary due to overthrow (even after hitting any of the batsmen), then the four runs will be added to the score after the overthrow.”

But the 6 runs that were added due to the overthrow was not correct, it should have been just 5 runs and New Zealand would have won the World Cup by 1 run.

The image, taken from the last over of the unpredictable final, shows New Zealand fielder Martin Guptill launching a throw to the keeper’s end while England batsmen Ben Stokes, who is at the left of the screen (non-striker's end), and Adil Rashid on the right, desperately attempt to complete the second run.

Also Read: MS Dhoni to retire from International Cricket after the World Cup?

It clearly shows that the batsmen were yet to cross at the moment when Guptill releases the ball.

The image that proves England shouldn't be awarded 6 runs;
Image credits: Fox Sports

It proves that England should have got 5 runs instead they got 6 which was a bonus for England, and that was a vital run for them to win the World Cup.

According to Law.19.8: “If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the willful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be any runs for penalties awarded to either side, and the allowance for the boundary, and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act,” the law states.

After this moment, field umpires Kumar Dharmasena and Marais Erasmus discussed between themselves for a while and later awarded six runs to England's tally.

Former international umpire and member of the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) laws subcommittee, Simon Taufel, confirmed that the umpires had made a critical error.

“It’s a clear mistake … it’s an error of judgment,” Taufel said 

“They should have been awarded five runs, not six,” he said, continuing that England's Adil Rashid should be on strike for the second-last ball instead of Stokes as a result. 

The former umpire from Australia defended the match umpires and said, they had to make a complicated judgement.

“In the heat of what was going on, the umpires thought there was a chance the batsmen had crossed at the moment of the throw” Taufel added.

Here is the video of the incident, where England were awarded 6 runs instead of 5:



Post a Comment

0 Comments